Taunt and Marked interaction with Invisibility

Well, there has been a lot of complaining about Mandrake since I started playing, mostly because there was no real counterplay to Mandrake’s gold other than killing him as fast as possible.

Now there is finally something to deal with him efficiently. Marked enemies can no longer go invisible. I love that change to be honest.

But what about taunts? What hero can taunt and go invisible by itself? None. There are two ways this can happen.

First, an invisible hero gets Gammond’s random buff, and they won’t be invisible anymore

Second, a taunting hero goes under 30% hp with Drake on the team and gets invisibility as a way to keep him safe, but, again, the taunting hero won’t be protected anymore, he will still drawn enemy fire, despite being close to death.

My point is, Marked countering Invisibility is an interesting counterplay versus some heroes, which adds more to PvP team composition.

Taunt countering invisibility, on the other hand, limits the hero teams we can create. Using any taunter with Mandrake destroys Mandrake’s gold. using any invisibility hero with Gammond has a chance to render that invisibility useless.

I know not all heroes can have great synergies together, but this seems to hurt more than it helps.

TL;DR: Marked countering invisibility is cool, taunting isn’t.

1 Like

We want Mandrake to continue to feel powerful in the right circumstances, but we wanted to reduce his flexibility without reducing his viability.

Mandrake’s [Survival Instincts] allowed him to make his allies invisible whenever they dropped below a specific Health Threshold. We want Mandrake to remain a viable a tank that can effectively protect squishy mid-line and backline allies, but this skill also allowed him to protect Taunting allies from pulling too much damage. The changes to taunting and invisibility will reduce this specific circumstance.