Having an awful time in PvP Help!

So I’ve been playing for a few months now, and got some of the Brogan crates which provided me with a larger pool of heroes. At this point I actually for the first time find myself with the ability to do some different team comps rather than just having to use my 5 strongest. But I’m having a hard time in PvP right now, I would love some help just trying to figure what might be ideal for both PvP and Farm considering what I have. Also who might be most worth pumping mats into. Thanks in advance!

Gold Heroes (Star): Odachi (7), Oracle (7), Phalanx (7), Razorback (6), Scum (5), Butter (5), Phoenix (7), Halo (5), Panzer (5), Moss (5), Caine (4), Nightingale (4), Maven (5)

Silver Heroes (Star): Matador (4), Surge (5), Chesterfield (5)

Others that I could potentially upgrade: Francoise, Salvatore, Bolt, Baron, Clyde, Hivemind, Hardscope, Mandrake, Callidus, Yanlong, Mauler, Pris, Min, Ryker, Sentry, Cross, Sapphyr, Cinder, Ronin, Fischer, Kunoichi

Also second question, is Phoenix just garbage? Despite being 7 star and gold she seems to have very minimal effect in any game mode.

PVP is a fickle beast. As soon as you upgrade heroes or change team make up your match ups will change a bunch so its hard to pinpoint the best ideas. You do have some stand outs. Mainly Panzer and Gale as they are the focus of the meta right now. If you have Gale’s skin, shes arguably the best in game right now. Panzer is just a beast and a great counter to Gale since most run them together. Gale is also a decent farmer since she has low hard missions and is in silver crate.

Aside from that, I’ve heard great things about Mauler in that mix up. Namely with Ifrit to just let the disorient/stun madness happen. Plus mauler is counter to the meta dps right now so hes a great one to raise.

You also have some potential for halo teams with hivemind and maven. Savage and Surge are also decent in that mix up.